Hospital Executives
Payers & Partners
Advanced Radiology Services
Trusted health care partners

Advanced Radiology Services (ARS) is one of the largest private radiology practices in the United States, performing 1.6 million procedures annually and serving a significant portion of Michigan patients and hospitals. It also provides professional administrative and billing services through its STARS division, led by experts in practice management, revenue cycle administration, data analysis, quality and compliance.  

ARS formed in 1997 when the independent radiology practices serving Butterworth and Blodgett Hospitals in Grand Rapids, Michigan merged. Several acquisitions followed including the oldest radiology practice in the United States, Kalamazoo Radiology, which began service in 1897. 

Advanced Radiology Services aims to be the leader in high quality, state-of-the-art diagnostic and interventional radiology services through the provision of subspecialty final exam interpretations, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.? Core values include putting patients first, excellence, integrity, compassion, fairness, respect, collegiality and cooperation.? 

The practice demonstrates its strong commitment to the community as sponsors of numerous annual events, including the Komen Race for the Cure in Kalamazoo, the Make-A-Wish Foundation Wish Ball, the Special Olympics Polar Bear Plunge, the American Cancer Society Relay for Life and In The Image, No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem luncheon.  

Leadership Team

Brian Fedeson, MD, president, Advanced Radiology Services; Member, Strategic Radiology Board of Managers. 
Ryan Duhn, MD, executive vice president, ARS; Member, Strategic Radiology Board of Managers. 
Rita Westphal, chief administrative officer, ARS. 

No. of Physicians


Hospitals served


Outpatient Centers Served


Procedures Per Year



Chuck Luttenton, MD, FACR received the 2017 Gold Medal award from the American Society of Emergency Radiologists.

Tom Griggs, MD received Spectrum Health’s Distinguished Physician Society award for 2017.